A bird, a plane, you!

The option is to choose of these superpowers

  • The ability to speak and understand any language
  • The ability to travel through time
  • The ability to make any two people agree with each other

As the hidden dangers of impending motherhood loom over me there is only one choice.  (melodramatic I know, but that doesn’t change the fact that I’m s**t scared of this major life change.)

I think most parents wish they could understand the needs of a child who’s only communication is screams and cries.  My choice would be to speak and understand any language.  Or at least to just understand.

Wouldn’t it be so much easier if you knew actually what your small child wanted without having them escalate to full on raging screams.    Cut out the time spent on having to figure out the little signs and signals of their needs and desires.  Oh what a perfect world.

Priscilla Dunstan hypothesizes that there are five sounds that a baby makes to identify key needs.  I have watched her set of DVD’s and gone through the reading material.  I will be very interested to find out if this system will give me that slight advantage of dealing with my child when she arrives.

Leave a Reply

